

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS TOWN OF NEW MARLBOROUGH OFFICE OF THE SELECT BOARD

807 Mill River Southfield Road, Mill River, MA 01244

Phone: 413-229-8116 Fax: 413-229-8253 E-mail: nmbos@newmarlboroughma.gov

Tara B. White, Chair Bill West Elizabeth Dean Select Board

Call for Volunteers

The following boards and committees still have openings. Interested persons are encouraged to access the town website: www.newmarlboroughma.gov and consult the Boards and Commissions page for more information. Questions may be directed to the specific boards through the website. Letters of Interest should be sent to the Select Board at mmbos@newmarlboroughma.gov. Thank you for considering this call to serve New Marlborough on one of these important committees.

Cable Advisory Committee: The Cable Advisory Committee provides a link between the Select Board, the Cable licensee, and the residents of New Marlborough. The Committee meets as needed. The current Chair is John Valente.

Capital Planning Committee: The Capital Planning Committee is mandated to review, develop, and maintain a multi-year Capital Improvement Plan, as well as review proposals for the construction of municipal buildings and acquisition of land or personal property. The Committee meets as necessary and most of its work occurs in the fall to prepare for the spring budget season. The current chair is Mark Walker.

Commission on Disabilities: The Commission on Disabilities acts in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities (ADA) act and the Massachusetts Office of Disabilities to review and make recommendations on matters relating to disabilities at the local level, as well as advise the Town on compliance with state and federal laws and regulations. The Commission meets as necessary. The current Chair is Marsha Pshenishny.

Conservation Commission: The Conservation Commission is responsible for locally administrating the Wetlands Protection Act (WPA) under MGL Chapter 131, Section 40. Commission typically meets monthly on the third Thursday of the month at 5:00 and attends site visits as necessary. Members are expected to devote additional time for research and education relating to the WPA. Current chairs are John Schreiber and Freddy Friedman.

Highway Planning Working Group: The Highway Planning Working Group is tasked with working with the Highway Superintendent to evaluate and plan for the future needs of the Highway Department, including maintaining a road plan and equipment schedule. The advisory group meets as necessary. The current chair is Barbara Marchione.

Historical Commission: The Historical Commission is tasked by the Commonwealth to advise the town on preservation of historical structures and for educating the public and disseminating information about New Marlborough's history. The Commission meets as necessary. Current Chair is John Schreiber.

Transfer Station Working Group: The mission of the Transfer Station Working Group is to assess and review the current operations of the Transfer Station, address compliance issues, and recommend and implement changes to address the upcoming state mandates for solid waste disposal. The Group meets as needed. The current Chair is Freddy Friedman.

Umpachene Falls Park Commission: The mission of the Commission is to preserve and maintain Umpachene Falls Park. The Commission meets as needed. The current Chair is Robert Twing.